Abbey church and museum of Art and Archaeology

The Abbey church

Founded in 910, Cluny abbey radiated over Europe troughout the Middle Ages, with its 1400 cluniac sites. Still today the restored remains and the monastic buildings bear witness to this search for gigantic size...
The restored remains of the immense abbey church and building spaces dating from the 18th century were highlited in 2010, inviting visitors to rediscover this unique place. A 3D film complete the visit and show the majesty of what was once the greatest church in Christendom.

The National Monuments Center offers various visitors tours to discover the abbey year round :
- unaccompanied tours ’with visitor documents available in French, English, German, Italian and Spanish),
- tours with commentary (every day, French)
- tours with audio-guide (French, English, German, Italian)
- tours made to measure for groups : conference tours, activities for school children, tours or worksops, special tours.

Museum of Art and Archaeology - Jean de Bourbon Palace


The Jean de Bourbon Palace houses or the Museum of Art and Archaeology is a rare example of a flamboyant Gotic style manor house, with its vast reception rooms decorated with monumental fireplaces. It is home to remarkable works of mediaval sculpture from Cluny, taken from the burg and the abbey itself.
Don’t miss the scale model of part of the Great Portal of Cluny III (tympanum, lintel, arches, jambs), a masterprice of Romanesque sculpture, and its accompanying digital film. The old library holds some rare prints, inherited from the Cluniac library.

From the Palace the visitor accesses the belvedere square of the great abbey church, the remains of its narthex, five naves and the great abbey courtyard between the Saint Hugues hostelry (11th century) and the Palace of the Pope Gelasius (entrance to the Monk’s enclosure).

Prices :

One ticket for both sites
- full price : 9,50€
- reduced rate, group rate : 7,50€
- free for people under 26 years old from the European Union.

Opening hours :

Careful last admission 45 minutes before closing.
- October to March, open from 9:30 am to 5pm.
- April, May, June and September, open from 9.30am to 6pm
- July and August, open from 9:30 am to 7pm
Open all year except 01/01, 01/05, 01/11, 11/11 and 25/12. . .

Contact :

Centre des Monuments Nationaux
Place du 11 Août 1944 - 71250 CLUNY
Phone. +33 (0)3 85 59 15 93
http://www.cluny-abbaye.fr - abbaye-de-cluny@monuments-nationaux.fr